Something new to discover each week: articles, foods, nutrients—and, as we expand, supplements and medicines. Explore what’s new.
× Food detail / Source: USDA
Whole-wheat bread Category: Legume, grain or cereal
Preparation: Bread, whole-wheat, commercially prepared, exactly as identified by USDA.
Rank per 100 g · #1 = highest amount, not a health score. Ranks update with the published catalog.
Calories ↗
#34 Rank 34 of 175 foods with reported data, per 100 g; highest amount first. 252.0 kcal
Protein ↗
#62 Rank 62 of 206 foods with reported data, per 100 g; highest amount first. 12.4 g
Carbohydrates ↗
#20 Rank 20 of 206 foods with reported data, per 100 g; highest amount first. 42.7 g
Fat ↗
#65 Rank 65 of 195 foods with reported data, per 100 g; highest amount first. 3.5 g
Fiber ↗
#38 Rank 38 of 186 foods with reported data, per 100 g; highest amount first. 6.0 g
Water ↗
#165 Rank 165 of 206 foods with reported data, per 100 g; highest amount first. 39.0 g
Calcium ↗
#31 Rank 31 of 205 foods with reported data, per 100 g; highest amount first. 161.0 mg
Iron ↗
#50 Rank 50 of 187 foods with reported data, per 100 g; highest amount first. 2.5 mg
Magnesium ↗
#39 Rank 39 of 205 foods with reported data, per 100 g; highest amount first. 75.0 mg
Phosphorus ↗
#55 Rank 55 of 205 foods with reported data, per 100 g; highest amount first. 212.0 mg
Potassium ↗
#115 Rank 115 of 205 foods with reported data, per 100 g; highest amount first. 254.0 mg
Sodium ↗
#12 Rank 12 of 183 foods with reported data, per 100 g; highest amount first. 455.0 mg
Vitamin C ↗
#177 Rank 177 of 178 foods with reported data, per 100 g; highest amount first. 0.0 mg
Thiamin ↗
#15 Rank 15 of 185 foods with reported data, per 100 g; highest amount first. 0.4 mg
Riboflavin ↗
#53 Rank 53 of 179 foods with reported data, per 100 g; highest amount first. 0.2 mg
Niacin ↗
#28 Rank 28 of 188 foods with reported data, per 100 g; highest amount first. 4.4 mg
Vitamin B6 ↗
#48 Rank 48 of 187 foods with reported data, per 100 g; highest amount first. 0.2 mg
Folate ↗
#53 Rank 53 of 176 foods with reported data, per 100 g; highest amount first. 42.0 µg
Choline ↗
#51 Rank 51 of 134 foods with reported data, per 100 g; highest amount first. 27.2 mg
Vitamin B12 ↗
#164 Rank 164 of 166 foods with reported data, per 100 g; highest amount first. 0.0 µg
Vitamin A ↗
#168 Rank 168 of 169 foods with reported data, per 100 g; highest amount first. 0.0 µg
Vitamin E ↗
#14 Rank 14 of 143 foods with reported data, per 100 g; highest amount first. 2.7 mg
Vitamin D (IU) ↗
#150 Rank 150 of 152 foods with reported data, per 100 g; highest amount first. 0.0 IU
Cholesterol ↗
#168 Rank 168 of 170 foods with reported data, per 100 g; highest amount first. 0.0 mg
USDA composition per 100 g for this preparation. Missing values and results below quantification limits remain unavailable for arithmetic; see USDA for the original limits. These data do not establish a food-specific health benefit.
206 foods · per 100 g
Where does this food rank? Position 1 has the highest amount. All published foods with data for the same nutrient form are compared using compatible units. Rankings refresh when catalog changes are published; a high position does not mean a food is healthier.
Search nutrients GroupAll nutrients Energy & macros Vitamins Minerals Amino acids
218 nutrients · page 1 of 19
Not reported 1 with comparable data
205 not reported · 0 incompatible units
Not reported 2 with comparable data
204 not reported · 0 incompatible units
Not reported 144 with comparable data
62 not reported · 0 incompatible units
0 g 139 with comparable data
67 not reported · 0 incompatible units
Not reported 0 with comparable data
206 not reported · 0 incompatible units
Not reported 148 with comparable data
58 not reported · 0 incompatible units
2.32 g 205 with comparable data
1 not reported · 0 incompatible units
Not reported 145 with comparable data
61 not reported · 0 incompatible units
Not reported 1 with comparable data
205 not reported · 0 incompatible units
Not reported 8 with comparable data
198 not reported · 0 incompatible units
126.5 mg 60 with comparable data
146 not reported · 0 incompatible units
Not reported 10 with comparable data
196 not reported · 0 incompatible units
Previous 1 / 19 Next Unreported values never count as zero. Ties use the stable food identifier. Bars show relative position, not a percentage of recommended intake.
Source and scope
Bread, whole-wheat, commercially prepared
SR Legacy · FDC 172688 · per 100 g · 2026-09-16T07:12:27.091Z
View USDA source ↗ Photograph credits