EXPLORE A NUTRIENT
Riboflavin
Discover how amounts vary across foods, on a shared basis for comparison.
Understand this nutrient ↓What is it?
Chemical reference: riboflavin (C17H20N4O6). USDA reports Riboflavin separately. [1] [2]

An identity reference, not the appearance of the food.
Description, source and attribution
Reference depiction: riboflavin. Formula C17H20N4O6; PubChem CID 493570; charge 0. This is a chemical reference, not a depiction of its physical appearance in food.
PubChem Compound 493570, 2D Structure. NCBI / National Library of Medicine. Source · Reuse terms
Source check:
A COMMON BASIS
Foods, per 100 g
179 foods with data 27 not reported, excluded from ranking
- Black pepper
Black pepper spice.
0.18 mg - Beef ground 90% lean
Ground beef, 90% lean / 10% fat, cooked as a pan-broiled patty.
0.177 mg - Chestnuts
Nuts, chestnuts, european, roasted, exactly as identified by USDA.
0.175 mg - Fresh spearmint
Spearmint, fresh, exactly as identified by USDA.
0.175 mg - Whole-wheat bread
Bread, whole-wheat, commercially prepared, exactly as identified by USDA.
0.167 mg - Cottage cheese
Creamed cottage cheese, large or small curd.
0.163 mg - Flaxseed
Flaxseed; source does not specify grinding.
0.161 mg - Pumpkin seeds
Dried pumpkin/squash seed kernels, without shells.
0.153 mg - Tamarind
Raw tamarind, edible pulp.
0.152 mg - Ground turmeric
Ground turmeric spice.
0.15 mg - Green peas
Green peas, boiled, drained, without salt.
0.149 mg - Sweet red pepper
Red bell pepper, raw.
0.1422 mg
All results are sorted before pagination. Bars compare amounts within this search; they do not indicate health benefits. Not reported does not mean zero.
UNDERSTAND THE DATA
The nutrient, in context
How to read this ranking
This page compares Riboflavin (Riboflavin), in mg per 100 g of food.
Chemical forms and measurement methods remain separate. “Not reported” means a value is unavailable, not that the food contains zero. A food’s rank does not determine your individual needs or diagnose a deficiency.
This NIH fact sheet concerns this nutrient. Its recommended amounts describe daily intake for the stated population, not a 100 g food portion. Keep food and supplement exposure separate as the source specifies.
NIH · OFFICE OF DIETARY SUPPLEMENTS
Riboflavin: Fact Sheet for Consumers
Original text published by NIH, including intake tables by age and sex, cautions, and the population context the source states. Bitameans has not performed an independent medical review or adapted these recommendations to your personal circumstances.
What is riboflavin and what does it do?
Riboflavin (also called vitamin B2) is important for the growth, development, and function of the cells in your body. It also helps turn the food you eat into the energy you need.
How much riboflavin do I need?
The amount of riboflavin you need depends on your age and sex. Average daily recommended amounts are listed below in milligrams (mg).
| Life Stage | Recommended Amount |
|---|---|
| Birth to 6 months | 0.3 mg |
| Infants 7–12 months | 0.4 mg |
Identity and structure sources
- PubChem Compound 493570: Riboflavin · Accessed 2026-09-13
- USDA FoodData Central: Foundation Foods Documentation · Accessed 2026-09-13











