Keep the curiosity. Make Bitameans yours.

Join Bitameans

Food detail / Source: USDA

Cape gooseberry

Category: Fruit

Preparation: Groundcherries, (cape-gooseberries or poha), raw, exactly as identified by USDA.

Commonly sold in: Latin America · Europe

Loading account…

Cape gooseberry — reference photograph

Portion

Adjust the amount

Amino acids

Rank per 100 g · #1 = highest amount, not a health score. Ranks update with the published catalog.

Calories

Rank 183 of 259 foods with reported data, per 100 g; highest amount first.

53.0 kcal

Protein

Rank 181 of 298 foods with reported data, per 100 g; highest amount first.

1.9 g

Carbohydrates

Rank 126 of 298 foods with reported data, per 100 g; highest amount first.

11.2 g

Fat

Rank 157 of 287 foods with reported data, per 100 g; highest amount first.

0.7 g

Fiber

Not ranked: not reported.

Not reported

Water

Rank 92 of 298 foods with reported data, per 100 g; highest amount first.

85.4 g

Calcium

Rank 243 of 296 foods with reported data, per 100 g; highest amount first.

9.0 mg

Iron

Rank 130 of 273 foods with reported data, per 100 g; highest amount first.

1.0 mg

Phosphorus

Rank 187 of 297 foods with reported data, per 100 g; highest amount first.

40.0 mg

Vitamin C

Rank 89 of 259 foods with reported data, per 100 g; highest amount first.

11.0 mg

Thiamin

Rank 80 of 270 foods with reported data, per 100 g; highest amount first.

0.1 mg

Riboflavin

Rank 188 of 262 foods with reported data, per 100 g; highest amount first.

0.0 mg

Niacin

Rank 56 of 274 foods with reported data, per 100 g; highest amount first.

2.8 mg

Vitamin B12

Rank 101 of 248 foods with reported data, per 100 g; highest amount first.

0.0 µg

Vitamin A

Rank 82 of 249 foods with reported data, per 100 g; highest amount first.

36.0 µg

Cholesterol

Rank 105 of 254 foods with reported data, per 100 g; highest amount first.

0.0 mg

USDA composition per 100 g for this preparation. Missing values and results below quantification limits remain unavailable for arithmetic; see USDA for the original limits. These data do not establish a food-specific health benefit.

Amino acids

Not reported

The published source for this food preparation does not report individual amino-acid amounts. This does not mean the food contains no amino acids.

View USDA source

298 foods · per 100 g

Where does this food rank?

Position 1 has the highest amount. All published foods with data for the same nutrient form are compared using compatible units. Rankings refresh when catalog changes are published; a high position does not mean a food is healthier.

229 nutrients · page 1 of 20

  • Not reported1 with comparable data

    297 not reported · 0 incompatible units

  • Not reported2 with comparable data

    296 not reported · 0 incompatible units

  • Not reported198 with comparable data

    100 not reported · 0 incompatible units

  • Not reported203 with comparable data

    95 not reported · 0 incompatible units

  • Not reported0 with comparable data

    298 not reported · 0 incompatible units

  • Not reported203 with comparable data

    95 not reported · 0 incompatible units

  • Ash

    #177
    0.8 g297 with comparable data

    1 not reported · 0 incompatible units

  • Not reported199 with comparable data

    99 not reported · 0 incompatible units

  • Not reported2 with comparable data

    296 not reported · 0 incompatible units

  • Not reported0 with comparable data

    298 not reported · 0 incompatible units

  • Not reported10 with comparable data

    288 not reported · 0 incompatible units

  • Not reported75 with comparable data

    223 not reported · 0 incompatible units

Unreported values never count as zero. Ties use the stable food identifier. Bars show relative position, not a percentage of recommended intake.

Photograph credits
Physalis peruviana 2.JPG · Dinkum · CC0. Cropped to a square, resized and converted to WebP.

Reference photograph; not the sample analyzed by USDA.

Your privacy preferences

Essential storage keeps your sign-in and preferences working. With your permission, Google Analytics measures visits to public pages. We do not measure the planner, your account or personal inputs. Advertising stays disabled. These choices do not subscribe you to articles.

Change your preferences from the footer. Choices are remembered in this browser for up to 180 days; new providers require a new choice.