EXPLORE A NUTRIENT
Potassium
Discover how amounts vary across foods, on a shared basis for comparison.
Understand this nutrient ↓What is it?
The element K is reported in mg; its amount does not identify a particular compound. [1] [2]

An identity reference, not the appearance of the food.
Description, source and attribution
Element K, atomic number 19. The graphic does not assign an oxidation state or compound to the food measurement.
Original Bitameans element graphic; symbol and atomic number from PubChem. Source · Reuse terms
Source check:
A COMMON BASIS
Foods, per 100 g
205 foods with data 1 not reported, excluded from ranking
- Halibut
Fish, halibut, Atlantic and Pacific, cooked, dry heat, exactly as identified by USDA.
528 mg - Snapper
Fish, snapper, mixed species, cooked, dry heat, exactly as identified by USDA.
522 mg - Soybeans
Mature soybeans, boiled without salt.
515 mg - Rye grain
Rye grain, unprepared; not cooked rye bread.
510 mg - Lima beans
Large mature lima beans, boiled without salt.
508 mg - Breadfruit
Breadfruit, raw, exactly as identified by USDA.
490 mg - Taro
Taro, cooked, without salt, exactly as identified by USDA.
484 mg - Sesame seeds
Whole dried sesame seeds.
468 mg - Fresh spearmint
Spearmint, fresh, exactly as identified by USDA.
458 mg - Mamey sapote
Sapote, mamey, raw, exactly as identified by USDA.
454 mg - Rainbow trout
Farmed rainbow trout, cooked with dry heat.
450 mg - Jackfruit
Jackfruit, raw, exactly as identified by USDA.
448 mg
All results are sorted before pagination. Bars compare amounts within this search; they do not indicate health benefits. Not reported does not mean zero.
UNDERSTAND THE DATA
The nutrient, in context
How to read this ranking
This page compares Potassium (Potassium, K), in mg per 100 g of food.
Chemical forms and measurement methods remain separate. “Not reported” means a value is unavailable, not that the food contains zero. A food’s rank does not determine your individual needs or diagnose a deficiency.
This NIH fact sheet concerns this nutrient. Its recommended amounts describe daily intake for the stated population, not a 100 g food portion. Keep food and supplement exposure separate as the source specifies.
NIH · OFFICE OF DIETARY SUPPLEMENTS
Potassium: Fact Sheet for Consumers
Original text published by NIH, including intake tables by age and sex, cautions, and the population context the source states. Bitameans has not performed an independent medical review or adapted these recommendations to your personal circumstances.
What is potassium and what does it do?
Potassium is a mineral found in many foods. Your body needs potassium for almost everything it does, including proper kidney and heart function, muscle contraction, and nerve transmission.
How much potassium do I need?
The amount of potassium you need each day depends on your age and sex. Average daily recommended amounts are listed below in milligrams (mg).
| Life Stage | Recommended Amount |
|---|---|
| Birth to 6 months | 400 mg |
| Infants 7–12 months |
Identity and structure sources
- PubChem Periodic Table of Elements · Accessed 2026-09-13
- USDA FoodData Central: Foundation Foods Documentation · Accessed 2026-09-13











