EXPLORE A NUTRIENT
Pantothenic acid
Discover how amounts vary across foods, on a shared basis for comparison.
Understand this nutrient ↓What is it?
Chemical reference: D-pantothenic acid (C9H17NO5). USDA reports Pantothenic acid separately. [1] [2]

This reference form does not represent every form included in the USDA quantity.
Description, source and attribution
Reference depiction: D-pantothenic acid. Formula C9H17NO5; PubChem CID 6613; charge 0. This specified form does not represent every form or molecule included in the USDA quantity.
PubChem Compound 6613, 2D Structure. NCBI / National Library of Medicine. Source · Reuse terms
Source check:
A COMMON BASIS
Foods, per 100 g
155 foods with data 51 not reported, excluded from ranking
- Cheddar cheese
Cheddar cheese; sodium reflects the source product.
0.413 mg - Mung beans
Mung beans, mature seeds, cooked, boiled, without salt, exactly as identified by USDA.
0.41 mg - Chayote
Chayote fruit, boiled, drained, without salt.
0.408 mg - Parsley
Parsley, fresh, exactly as identified by USDA.
0.4 mg - Dill
Dill weed, fresh, exactly as identified by USDA.
0.397 mg - Mamey sapote
Sapote, mamey, raw, exactly as identified by USDA.
0.397 mg - Starfruit
Carambola, (starfruit), raw, exactly as identified by USDA.
0.391 mg - Black-eyed peas
Cowpeas, catjang, mature seeds, cooked, boiled, without salt, exactly as identified by USDA.
0.386 mg - Brown rice
Cooked, long-grain. The USDA source description does not state added salt.
0.38 mg - Green plantain
Green plantain, boiled; added salt is not stated in the source description.
0.38 mg - Pomegranate
Pomegranates, raw, exactly as identified by USDA.
0.377 mg - Couscous
Couscous, cooked, exactly as identified by USDA.
0.371 mg
All results are sorted before pagination. Bars compare amounts within this search; they do not indicate health benefits. Not reported does not mean zero.
UNDERSTAND THE DATA
The nutrient, in context
How to read this ranking
This page compares Pantothenic acid (Pantothenic acid), in mg per 100 g of food.
Chemical forms and measurement methods remain separate. “Not reported” means a value is unavailable, not that the food contains zero. A food’s rank does not determine your individual needs or diagnose a deficiency.
This NIH fact sheet concerns this nutrient. Its recommended amounts describe daily intake for the stated population, not a 100 g food portion. Keep food and supplement exposure separate as the source specifies.
NIH · OFFICE OF DIETARY SUPPLEMENTS
Pantothenic Acid: Fact Sheet for Consumers
Original text published by NIH, including intake tables by age and sex, cautions, and the population context the source states. Bitameans has not performed an independent medical review or adapted these recommendations to your personal circumstances.
What is pantothenic acid and what does it do?
Pantothenic acid (also called vitamin B5) helps turn the food you eat into the energy you need. It’s important for many functions in the body, especially making and breaking down fats.
How much pantothenic acid do I need?
The amount of pantothenic acid you need depends on your age and sex. Average daily recommended amounts are listed below in milligrams (mg).
| Life Stage | Recommended Amount |
|---|---|
| Birth to 6 months | 1.7 mg |
| Infants 7–12 months |
Identity and structure sources
- PubChem Compound 6613: Pantothenic Acid · Accessed 2026-09-13
- USDA FoodData Central: Foundation Foods Documentation · Accessed 2026-09-13











