EXPLORE A NUTRIENT
Phosphorus
Discover how amounts vary across foods, on a shared basis for comparison.
Understand this nutrient ↓What is it?
The element P is reported in mg; its amount does not identify a particular compound. [1] [2]

An identity reference, not the appearance of the food.
Description, source and attribution
Element P, atomic number 15. The graphic does not assign an oxidation state or compound to the food measurement.
Original Bitameans element graphic; symbol and atomic number from PubChem. Source · Reuse terms
Source check:
A COMMON BASIS
Foods, per 100 g
205 foods with data 1 not reported, excluded from ranking
- Black pepper
Black pepper spice.
158 mg - Quinoa
Cooked quinoa; added salt/fat not specified in the source description.
152 mg - Amaranth
Cooked amaranth grain.
148 mg - Dried oregano
Dried oregano.
148 mg - Black-eyed peas
Cowpeas, catjang, mature seeds, cooked, boiled, without salt, exactly as identified by USDA.
142 mg - Black beans
Cooked; boiled; without salt, as stated in the USDA source description.
140 mg - Atlantic cod
Atlantic cod, cooked with dry heat.
138 mg - Canned light tuna
Light tuna canned in water, drained solids; not specified as no-salt-added.
137 mg - Lupin beans
Lupins, mature seeds, cooked, boiled, without salt, exactly as identified by USDA.
128 mg - Fava beans
Broadbeans (fava beans), mature seeds, cooked, boiled, without salt, exactly as identified by USDA.
125 mg - Oyster mushrooms
Mushrooms, oyster, raw, exactly as identified by USDA.
120 mg - Teff
Teff, cooked, exactly as identified by USDA.
120 mg
All results are sorted before pagination. Bars compare amounts within this search; they do not indicate health benefits. Not reported does not mean zero.
UNDERSTAND THE DATA
The nutrient, in context
How to read this ranking
This page compares Phosphorus (Phosphorus, P), in mg per 100 g of food.
Chemical forms and measurement methods remain separate. “Not reported” means a value is unavailable, not that the food contains zero. A food’s rank does not determine your individual needs or diagnose a deficiency.
This NIH fact sheet concerns this nutrient. Its recommended amounts describe daily intake for the stated population, not a 100 g food portion. Keep food and supplement exposure separate as the source specifies.
NIH · OFFICE OF DIETARY SUPPLEMENTS
Phosphorus: Fact Sheet for Consumers
Original text published by NIH, including intake tables by age and sex, cautions, and the population context the source states. Bitameans has not performed an independent medical review or adapted these recommendations to your personal circumstances.
What is phosphorus and what does it do?
Phosphorus is a mineral contained in each cell in our body. Most phosphorus is in the bones and teeth, and some is in your genes. Your body needs phosphorus to make energy and to carry out many important chemical processes.
How much phosphorus do I need?
How much phosphorus you need depends on your age. Average daily recommended amounts are listed below in milligrams (mg).
| Life Stage | Recommended Amount |
|---|---|
| Birth to 6 months | 100 mg |
| Infants 7–12 months |
Identity and structure sources
- PubChem Periodic Table of Elements · Accessed 2026-09-13
- USDA FoodData Central: Foundation Foods Documentation · Accessed 2026-09-13











